I’ve Got A Web Series Addiction

Episode 100 of The Lizzie Bennet Diaries aired almost a year ago. I had been engaged in it from the start when I happened to watch a Vlogbrothers video in which Hank talks about his then forthcoming project. As soon as I’d heard that it would be a modern adaptation of Pride & Prejudice, I was sold. You see, no matter how much I put up a leather & boots façade in real life and scoff at people who outwardly proclaim their belief in ‘true love’, I am an inner romantic. I’ve got lofty ideals about love, which is why I’m so skeptical about it (if it even makes sense).

Back to the point. If there were any reservations I had about Hank’s idea of a YouTube web series, they were gone by the first episode. As the series aired, it was evident that the writers were very creative in their translation of Victorian problems into 21st century ones. The main subject revolving around Mrs Bennet’s desire to see her daughters married was definitely retained, but others such as Mr Collin’s proposal and Pemberley itself were given fresh twists.

I would tune in twice a week when the series aired and followed the spin-off channels of the other major people in Lizzie’s life. Even in class, I’d anticipated getting home and logging on at 9 p.m. (time zone difference) because just like any brilliant TV series, I couldn’t get it out of my head. I created my Twitter account just because I had to follow these characters’ story lines.

As cheesy as it might sound, life has never been the same after The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. It left a YouTube sized void in my schedule. It took me a really long while to get over it. Just like a real world break-up, I like to think. There was nothing else for me to look forward to so frequently and fervently anymore.

If you have time on your hands, or if you don’t, but want to torture yourself, I’ll slap the video down below for your perusal. If you’ve any reservations, just think about the impending Darcy reveal. There, I got you, didn’t I?

I’m not done yet! The end of The Lizzie Bennet Diaries made me wander through life like a lost sheep for a few months, but as I was browsing through Twitter the other day, I came across TLBD creator, Bernie Su’s tweet about his mom asking him what Jane Eyre was about. He provided a link as an answer. Well, in my world, linky clicky. I ended up on the YouTube page of The Autobiography of Jane Eyre. Gods be good, not again.

Long story short, I finished 69 episodes in two days (ah, the perks of finishing school). Took me a couple of hours each day. I just couldn’t stop clicking through to the next episode. It is wonderfully acted. My yellowing copy of Jane Eyre is still sitting on the shelf untouched, but the series felt so raw and genuine that I think it might be good to let them take me on a ride. Besides, the book will always be there should I feel the need to get ahead of the story.

Now, the editing on Jane Eyre is not as clean as in TLBD and Jane is a lot more awkward on screen (the first two episodes were hard to watch – in a good way), but it brought out a very real world feel about it. I could see Jane grow more and more confident with each video she put up and felt really proud of her even though she’s (obviously) fictional.

The Darcy-esque reveal is not so intensely anticipated here, as the male lead, Mr R appears quite early on in the series, but it is nevertheless a thrill (sigh, fictional men). The friendship and eventual romance of the two lead characters is oh-so hilarious and at one point in the show, it got really, nightmare-inducing creepy. However, I won’t spoil the series here, so do check it out! Your life will be RUINED. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Got A Web Series Addiction

Leave a Reply

