Writing 101: Commit to a Writing Practice

Today, celebrate three songs that are significant to you. For your twist, write for fifteen minutes without stopping — and build a writing habit.

1. Livin’ On A Prayer – Bon Jovi

I’m not sure when exactly I heard this song, but I sort of got into a rock phase when I returned from Ireland last year, basically because they have their own rock radio station. Come on, people, we need one here. I don’t exactly fall in love with songs with their meanings first. It’s usually the melody that attracts me and I’ll bounce around to it without knowing what it means until I catch a few words here and there. That’s when I really go crazy over it. This one is amazing because it’s about living in tough circumstances. Making it together. Halfway there. Take my hand. We’ll make it I swear. Life is not a bed of roses. But we’ll survive. Everyone survives no matter what kind of shit happens to them. That’s until they die, but before that happens, they live. Their hearts beat. Our hearts beat. We’re life. Even if it sucks.

2. It’s Time – Imagine Dragons

This song is a little more fun to write about. I discovered this through MTV Push? I can’t really remember. I can only remember receiving a mailer from somewhere I didn’t sign up for. But the contents looked interesting and they were talking about this up and coming band from Vegas? Anyway, I clicked on it and found myself watching an acoustic version of It’s Time. Yes, the very first song I heard from them. What blew me away was their stomping. Everybody knows I love songs with good beats. The synchronicity of their feet and the clapping was just amazing. It made me feel really energetic. I wanted to be there with them, to enjoy myself. I’m never changing who I am. Yeah, it’s a celebrztino of yourself. Keep going. I want to keep bobbing to this song. I don’t know what I’m writing, but non-stop writing for 15 minutes, yeah? Here I am. Keep going. Keep writing.

3. Run – Snow Patrol

I’m pretty sure this song came up many times on local radio, but didn’t catch my attention before. When I heard it again last year, it struck me pretty hard. I guess I was googling songs for depression or something like that. I wanted something to help me out of the hole I’d fallen in and some random website said this song was relatable, because it was written when Gary Lightbody was depressed himself. I think it really made me cry in the dead of the night. I just felt so low and I wanted to disappear so badly, as if you have a choice. Light up. I’ll be right beside you. I was afraid. I didn’t want to feel happy anymore. Sadness is an easy place to sink to and never get up from. But we all know that we have to get better. For everyone around us, for ourselves. Even if it seemed impossible. We have to. Damn. I can’t believe it has been so long ago.

Now, I have to stop my itchy fingers from trying to edit all the strange things I said above. P.S. That live version of Run is the best live video ever.

3 thoughts on “Writing 101: Commit to a Writing Practice

Leave a Reply

